Spin the dial

I am sure we all have morning routines. Part of my routine is to have a local radio station playing in the background when I’m getting ready in the morning. I don’t want the intrusive babble of overbright voices too early on in my day – I covert that initial quiet time when most of the world is still asleep. But it is handy to catch up on the news and local travel.

Tea
Cup of Tea by NicehotcupofT courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0 https://flic.kr/p/bkfNg5 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

But here’s the thing – I don’t particularly like the DJ. I find him borderline annoying and the music they play is pretty safe, middle of the road stuff. I ought to change the station and tune in to someone new but the other local radio station is even worse. They have a couple of morning DJs, a man and a woman, and the woman sets my teeth on edge so that’s a no go. There are, of course, plenty of other stations to choose from but it’s the effort, it’s the time. I have a pretty tight timetable in the morning so I stick with it, take the good stuff, try to ignore the annoying stuff, hold on to my routine and get on with my day.

Radio
Radio by Robert Ashworth courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0 https://flic.kr/p/eSwjZW https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Earlier this week the station or the transmitter suffered a meltdown. Suddenly there was nothing coming out of my radio. I stared quizzically at my old battered radio in case it had had the radio equivalent of a cardiac arrest but on moving closer I could hear the static so I knew the radio wasn’t to blame. I have been told that a DJ’s worst nightmare is what they describe as “dead air”. Well there was plenty of that.

If I wanted music, news and noise I now had no choice but to spin the dial and find another station. With a sigh of impatience I did just that. After a few detours into classical music (perfect for chilled out evenings with a glass of wine but not frantic mornings) and hard edged rock (perfect for driving or doing the housework) I found a substitute. And what a substitute. The DJ made me laugh within two sentences and even the music was more my style – rockier (but not headbanging).

I now have a new accompaniment to my morning routine and it is better than the one I had before.

radio dial
Radio Dial by James Cridland courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0 https://flic.kr/p/9UsSUa https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

There is an analogy there for other parts of my life and probably yours too. All too often we stick with what we know even if we are unhappy about it because it is easier, less hassle or because that’s just the way it’s always been. But why not make the effort and challenge the status quo? You may, like me, be glad you did.

We should all spin the dial occasionally.

 

5 thoughts on “Spin the dial

  1. Greg Koren 21/03/2017 / 9:44 pm

    “We should all spin the dial occasionally.” Couldn’t agree more! 😀

    Like

  2. deborahanndykeman 24/03/2017 / 3:01 pm

    What a great thing to stumble upon! Makes me want to kick myself in the nether regions whenever I don’t want to make a change, and then I do, and it is SO much better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

