Thanks for the Memories

memory
Memory by Silvia Vinuales courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-ND 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/6UsiLA   https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/

I am grateful for the happy family memories that have been created over the years. Holidays and high days, summer sun and Christmas fun. Warm smiles and laughter and silly jokes. I’m grateful for the way that memories can spring from nowhere brought to the fore by a colour or a smell or a song on the radio and I am once again back there with the wonderful people and pets I have been lucky enough to share my life with.

I’m grateful that I will always have those memories stored away in my subconscious. A treasure trove to call on now some of the sweet souls who helped create them are gone. They will be there to comfort me on the cold days without them, they will help to dry my tears and make me smile again. And I am thankful for that.

Last night I had a dream. It involved close family members, some alive, some not. We were enjoying a day out sightseeing in London. We had a fine time. I can’t recall the places we visited but I remember how happy I felt. I came home with a glossy bag depicting some of London’s most famous landmarks and, bizarrely, a 30% off voucher for afternoon tea!

Whilst I have done ‘the sights’ in London many times over the years and sometimes with members of my family, I have never done it with the exact combination of people who undertook the trip in my dream. I have my memories to thank for creating that and I am grateful.

floating-heart
Heart by Seyed Mostafa Zamani courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/7uZPny      https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

 
2 thoughts on “Thanks for the Memories

  1. Jo-Ann Carson 30/01/2017 / 2:40 pm

    Ellie,
    Your post is beautiful. I’ll link it up for you and send you the html for the frog in case you want to add it to the bottom of your post.
    hugs,
    Jo-Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

