Alone in a crowd

When people think of indie publishing they think of one person multi tasking, swapping between being a writer, being an editor, being a formatter and being a promoter. There are some writers (and I take my hat off to you) who do all those things themselves. Most of us have a team we rely on to help us do the jobs we cannot do ourselves or don’t have time to do.

But beyond that group of people are a wider support network which form such an important part of an indie writer’s support system and most of them the writer has probably never met. I’m talking about the online support groups. Most writers belong to a few of these. They can be enriching, entertaining, informative, sometimes frustrating but always worthwhile – at least when you find the ones that suit you best.

support
Support by Igor Grushevskiy courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/aWNwU2   https://goo.gl/euu9DW

And that’s the beauty of support groups – there are a lot of them out there and every writer will be sure to find at least one group they feel comfortable with. As with other aspects of life, one man’s meat is another man’s poison and just because your writing friend raved about a particular group doesn’t mean you will find them worth committing time to.   You have to kiss a few frogs before you find your prince (sorry – blame the romance writer in me for that analogy!).

good-advice
Good Advice by Brett Jordan courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/oVWkqU   https://goo.gl/euu9DW

One group I was fortunate enough to discover very early in my indie writing career was the Alliance of Independent Authors. If you are not familiar with Alli and are an independent author I strongly suggest you check out the Alli site. If you need to keep your finger on the pulse of what’s new in independent publishing, best practices and so much more check out the link to their website below:-

https://www.allianceindependentauthors.org/

If you have a favourite writing based group you belong to, why not tell us all about it either in the comments section below or perhaps in your own blog post and send me a link. Why not share the love?

 

4 thoughts on “Alone in a crowd

  1. Akaluv 02/12/2016 / 3:00 am

    I wish I had a writing group I was a part of; I’m still trying to find the right one for me.

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 04/12/2016 / 4:50 pm

      There are lots of great groups on the web. Experiment with a few and see if you find one that suits you. You might also find a writers’ group near to where you live. Keep an eye out in local bookshops and libraries for details. It took me over ten years to find a great local writers’ group I could feel comfortable being a part of but the group was certainly worth the wait.

      Like

  2. kjw616 02/12/2016 / 12:00 pm

    Thanks, Ellie. You are correct about your frog-prince analogy. I joined a few groups which have turned out to be a poor fit for me– more science fiction and horror writers than my genre. I will look into your suggestion and see if it works for me.

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 04/12/2016 / 4:48 pm

      Keep searching. I am confident you will find a group that will be a great fit for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

