The Beauty of a Book

lovely-book
Lovely Book by Tim Geers courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-SA 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/8DFBf3   https://goo.gl/WVM0e5

I was recently handselling my books at a local Christmas fayre. In the course of the day I chatted to many of the visitors. Some were fans of romantic fiction and bought my books (yay!), some simply wanted to talk to an author about what writing a book was really like. Many of them confessed to harbouring dreams of writing a book themselves one day. Lots were shocked at how long it can take to write a book that is 100k words long.

However, the theme that struck me most throughout the day was the number of people who, whether buyers or not, picked up my books, held them, stroked them or flicked through them and then with an almost guilty smile admitted that they just LOVE the feel of a real book. Men and women, young and old, they all said the same thing. The majority even confessed to owning a Kindle, admitting they found it useful particularly when going on holiday so that their suitcases were no longer weighed down by their holiday reading material. But they still yearned for a real book and gave in to the impulse almost as though it were a guilty pleasure.

I fall into that category too. I like the Kindle. It’s useful and it has its place but it will never replace a real book in my affections. There is something about the feel of a book and dare I say it the smell of a book that no electronic device could ever hope to replicate.

readinga
Reading by Moyan Brenn courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/a4VWED   https://goo.gl/LZ3b1M

No one should feel guilty about loving books. They are a joy and something we should all cherish whether or not we own ereaders.

So if you are stuck for a present to buy someone this Christmas don’t forget about the humble book. You may just make someone’s day before they even open the cover.

 

4 thoughts on “The Beauty of a Book

  1. Akaluv 29/11/2016 / 2:06 am

    There’s nothing wrong with loving books; I agree with you =)

    Like

  2. Candelo Blooms 30/11/2016 / 8:01 am

    I agree wholeheartedly! I can’t imagine a world without books. There is something about being able to hold a book, to savour the words slowly without digital interference, to appreciate the size and shape of the book, the smell and feel of the paper and even the sound of the pages turning! We always give books for birthdays and Christmas. In fact, it is the one thing I find difficult to resist! I can do without coffees, restaurant meals and new clothing, but put me in a bookshop and I find it near-impossible to walk out without a purchase! I’m a bibliotragic in the best possible way!!!

    Like

  3. K E Garland 05/12/2016 / 10:08 am

    I agree. In fact, I was surprised by how many people were waiting for my book to be in paperback format. Glad to see you’re out and about selling!

    Like

  4. beachbooksblog 16/12/2016 / 6:40 am

    agree, agree, agree 🙂 books are touchable, lovable, warm. to open a book after some time spent in screens is always like homecoming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

