Progress?

So here’s the thing, I’m an independent woman who pays all her own bills, both employed and self employed, I’m used to juggling priorities and commitments. I can do things today that my own grandmothers could only have dreamed of but that cuts both ways.

Both my grandmothers were talented seamstresses. In those days lots of women were, you had to be to make ends meet. Make and mend was the way most working class families got by. Women with needlework skills could not only make clothes for their families, provide soft furnishings for the house and repair any damage done, they could also supplement the household income by taking in work for others. It was an essential skill in days gone by.

seamstress
The Seamstress by Texasbubba courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-SA 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/6cUzwC  https://goo.gl/OOAQfn

Now here’s my confession – I can’t sew to save my life. Well, that’s a slight exaggeration. If someone had a gun to my head I could probably sew a button on. How long it would remain on is not something I would want to stick around to found out but at a push I could do it. Make my own clothes?! Forget about it. Even if I had the inclination (which I don’t), the skills would be sadly lacking and any item I managed to produce I probably wouldn’t want to be seen dead in.

seamstress-basics
Seamstress Basics by Anika courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CCO 1.0 Public Domain

https://flic.kr/p/umk5Qx  https://goo.gl/WJLbKh

And that, as Carrie Bradshaw used to say, got me to thinking. Would my grandmothers be disappointed that the skills they once deemed essential had been lost to their granddaughter or would they be pleased that I live and thrive in a world where those skills are no longer deemed necessary? I like to think the latter. How about you?

8 thoughts on “Progress?

  1. deborahanndykeman 10/10/2016 / 9:49 pm

    I personally think it’s sad that so many of the skills, men and women, used to know are now gone. I think so many of them were basic survival skills, and it’s rather scary to think that we have several generations now that don’t have them. If we were to lose our technology, many would be rather lost. The same goes for our power, etc. I love all the perks of living in this world today, but I have chopped firewood and cooked on a wood stove. I can sew, cook from scratch, etc. I fear I didn’t pass as much of that on to my children as I would have liked! 😉

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 12/10/2016 / 8:48 pm

      I hear what you say. The thing is I will never know if my grandmothers had all the opportunities that I have had whether they would have followed the same paths. The options were so much more limited then, the scope more narrow. I am very impressed by your skills! If the apocalypse happens, I am coming to stay with you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie Burrows 11/10/2016 / 4:24 pm

    I agree with you, Ellie. My grandmother was a wonderful musician and had been told she could have been a concert pianist. Instead, she got married and became a wife and mother. My grandfather (who I never knew) wouldn’t allow a piano in the house. Yes, times have changed, thankfully. Could we have been self published authors in those days? Not a chance. I love the modern world; social media, cute kittens on FB and everything that goes with it. Next year I will self publish my first two contemporary romances and will think of my Gran when I do so. I rather think she would have been proud.

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 12/10/2016 / 8:49 pm

      I am sure she would be Jackie and as I said in reply to Karen’s comment below, I like to think my grandmothers would be proud of me – and also a little in awe of the technology we take for granted. Please let me know when your books are released – I am looking forward to reading them 🙂

      Like

      • Jackie Burrows 16/10/2016 / 10:37 am

        Thanks, I certainly will. Also, I would like to review books on my blog (which I haven’t set up yet) and, with your permission, would like ‘The Flower Seller’ to be my first review as I enjoyed it so much. Debut novels by Indies will be a priority.

        Like

      • ellieholmesauthor 16/10/2016 / 12:40 pm

        I would love to be featured on your blog. Thank you 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

