The Waiting Game

The Waiting Game
The Waiting Game by John T. Howard courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-SA 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/GuNxiG   https://goo.gl/OOAQfn

They say that patience is a virtue but it’s a hard one to cultivate. Waiting for something can be incredibly frustrating particularly if you are not sure of the outcome once you get there. Counting down to a big event such as departing on your summer break or the lead up to Christmas can bring its own stresses and strains. As we rush about to get all our plans in place, you wonder if the extra work these events entail makes them worthwhile. Hopefully the break is a positive one and you return ready to build up to the next big event.

Waiting for something you care about or that is important is tough. I fought cancer nine years ago. Form me the hardest part was waiting for test results and as anyone who has had cancer knows you undergo a whole lot of tests at the point of diagnosis, during the treatment and when you are in remission. I well remember having to psych myself up to attend for each test just wishing they could magically produce the result on the same day so the stress of waiting didn’t gnaw away at me in the meantime. When I was in remission I had to go for a blood test on a Friday and didn’t get the results until the Monday. Those were the weekends from hell while I tried to keep myself occupied with inconsequential things. For me it made a bad situation so much worse.

Waiting 2
Waiting by David Amsler courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/dxieWg  https://goo.gl/sZ7V7x

As you might have gathered, I’m not a patient person but I am trying to bring my impatience down a few notches. I’m trying to remind myself that the world won’t end tomorrow if my package doesn’t get delivered on time or that meeting I had scheduled is junked or the release date for my favourite TV series gets put back. Getting impatient about things you cannot change is ultimately futile. It will only serve to raise your blood pressure and being the health conscious person I now am that is never a good thing.

The Cuppa Waiting
The Cuppa Waiting by Jan courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/DHpyKf   https://goo.gl/sZ7V7x

I am proud to report that I have recently been displaying a huge amount of patience as I waited for the blackberries in my garden to ripen. I have watched them carefully for many weeks from their humble beginnings to the green berries and finally as they started to darken. The hot weather we have recently enjoyed has brought them on a treat and this weekend the moment had come to pick the first modest crop. They were delicious and there are more to come. If I had picked them too early they would not have been anywhere near as tasty. There’s a lesson in life in there somewhere. I just need the patience to heed it.

Blackberries
Blackberries by Phil Long courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/aogHJ3  https://goo.gl/sZ7V7x

 

4 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. Akaluv 22/08/2016 / 10:29 pm

    Developing patience is an important skill. I know for me, I need to have more patience when it comes to my writing. Often, I’ll try to learn faster than I should, rushing through chapters and reading. I also want to see where the ending of my writing journey will lead me, rather than take the steps needed to walk there. What I mean is, if I will end up publishing a book or getting my stories turned into another media. I wish I could see the results now than later^^

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 23/08/2016 / 4:29 am

      It’s a massive issue for writers particularly indie published writers. Funnily enough I’m planning a waiting themed blog about writing for my usual Thursday writing blog this week so stay tuned! Ellie x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Candelo Blooms 23/08/2016 / 6:00 am

    If it’s any consolation, I’m a very impatient gardener too, especially at this time of the year when Spring is just round the corner! My ex-farmer husband tells me that I need to cultivate a farming mentality and time scale! I can’t wait for a few years down the track when everything is overgrown and blowsy, but I know it’s the journey that counts! And I also know that it will go quickly and I shouldn’t wish the time away- ah, the joys of a new garden!!!

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 23/08/2016 / 5:48 pm

      It’s so difficult isn’t it. I have so much admiration for the planters in the 18th and 19th century who planted up the big stately gardens knowing full well it would be future generations who would benefit from all their hard work. That’s dedication for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

