Refill the well

So here’s the thing, I’m an introvert. You may be one as well. Chances are if you’re not you are probably sitting near one right now. There are a lot of us about. More than you think, probably because a lot of the time we hide our introverted natures behind a carefully constructed extroverted mask.

Mask2
Mask by Muffinn courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/nvc4Cr  https://goo.gl/KiwqCy

Why do we feel the need to do that? Probably because we fear judgment. We fear being singled out as being a bit odd. You want to leave the party early and be home in your jim jams on the sofa? Why, are you sick? No, I’m an introvert and I need a break from all these people. Okay?

Quiet time
How not to manage an introvert? By Nguyen Hung Vu courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/iFMEAF  https://goo.gl/Sso0GN

Being introverted is a bit like being a geek (and there are a lot of those out there too!). We’re a source of wry amusement to those who think and feel differently.

I happen to believe being a geek is cool and so it being an introvert. I have accepted that if I am going to be going to a social event, even one I am looking forward to, I am going to find it draining and I am going to need some serious down time afterwards to refill the well. I have learnt the hard way that scheduling too many social commitments in too short a time period is going to lead to last minute cancellations on my part (which is something I hate doing) or exhaustion.

I can be as bright and bubbly in company as the next person if my energy levels are up. If not, forget it. So, over the years I have learned to pace myself. Whenever I take on a social engagement I always weigh up how long I’m going to be there for and schedule down time immediately afterwards and perhaps even the next day too if the social event is lengthy and particularly taxing.

Introverts
Introverts by Seaternity courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-SA 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/ncuDLt  https://goo.gl/VtXQok

Extroverts will struggle to understand this. Extroverts thrive off the social interaction. To them attending party after party is like plugging themselves into the grid and firing up. With introverts it is the polar opposite. Situations that fire up the extroverts will nine times out of ten drain the introverts.

If you are, like me, an introvert then embrace it. Don’ try to be something you are not. Trying to keep up with the extroverts in your life will not end well. Trust me, I know!

Listen to your body and if you need to refill the well then do so – without apology. We all love time in our PJs on the sofa watching bad TV or in solitude reading a good book. As introverts we just need more of it, that’s all.

Introvets unitejpg
Introverts unite by Joe Wolf courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY-ND 2.0

https://flic.kr/p/oa5FUa   https://goo.gl/ctxvt2

The cover of The Flower Seller is taking part in Author Shout’s Cover Wars during the week of 24th July 2016 – 30th July 2016. If you like the cover I would be thrilled if you would show your support by voting for it. To vote you need to click on the link below, click to like the Author Shout facebook page, tweet, or link through Google+   You can vote once every 24 hours. Thank you!

http://authorshout.com/cover-wars/

The Flower Seller Cover and Blurb
Have love and loyalty gone out of fashion? The Flower Seller by Ellie Holmes available from Amazon now https://goo.gl/KFi7kw

 

4 thoughts on “Refill the well

  1. K E Garland 26/07/2016 / 7:59 pm

    “Introverts unite, separately, in your own homes” lol I love it. My aunt is a serious introvert, so I understand.

    Like

    • ellieholmesauthor 26/07/2016 / 8:56 pm

      I was hunting around on Flickr CReative Commons for something suitable and couldn’t resist when I came across it – it’s brilliant isn’t it?! And totally sums us introverts up. Say hello to your aunt from me. Ellie x

      Liked by 1 person

      • K E Garland 27/07/2016 / 1:19 am

        lol will do…on the same note, we mostly inbox one another because she prefers not to speak on the phone

        Like

      • ellieholmesauthor 27/07/2016 / 4:58 am

        Aahh I know that feeling – your aunt and I would get on very well together I think – but only from a distance 😉 Thank goodness for social media which allows us to reach out but in a way we are totally comfortable with. I think there’s another blog post in there! Ellie x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

